Birthday note

It is my birthday today. I could be happy or sad. Happy because I have added one more year of celebration to my life. Sad because I am nearing death as every birthday passes by. I choose to remain happy- now and always.

I am most greatful to my parents. They not only gave me the gift of life but the unrelenting passion to live it fully. They taught me that the limit of my vision is not the limit of the world. A big thanks to you, dad and mom!
I have woken up healthy this morning. I am luckier than one million people who will not survive next week. I had my breakfast this morning. I am luckier than 50% of the world population who are underfed and 45% of the world population who are thirsty. I’m into a professional course and I belong to the elite 1% of the inhabitants of this planet who are privileged to have higher education. I’m lucky to be born into that part of the country where girl children are not mercilessly aborted or killed. I’m lucky to be born without any congental anomalies and lethal defects.
I understand that I am very very lucky.
A billion children went to sleep hungry last night. One hundred and fifty eight people lost their lives in the plane crash in Mangalore last week. In next 50 years my hometown will be submerged in the sea due to the ill effects of global warming. And I worry about being late to the college on my birthday.
It is easy to put yourself first. It is easy confine our thoughts to little things. But what takes guts is to stand for something bigger and something more important. On this birthday I have decided to make this world a better place to live in my own little ways.
My report cards never failed to mention my passion for vigorously exercising my vocal cords on a near constant basis. I get my voice heard everywhere. I let everyone know my opinion about anything under the sun and above it. On this birthday, I’ve chosen to remain a good listener than a worst speaker.
I shall work harder and longer to finish efficiently those tasks which are entrusted on me.
A trillion thanks to my real and virtual friends who wished me on my birthday.
19 thoughts on “Birthday note

  1. Happy Bday Netha. I hope i am the first of your virtual friends to have wished you 😀 I will want a treat whenever we meet :)And wat u wrote is a very noble thought on ur bday… And yes ur not closer 2 ur death, u hv a long way 2 go 🙂

  2. Simple , Humble and NobleMany Many Happy returns of d day..Kozhikkode is one of the most beautiful place in Kerala. And the people are really cool… And dont speak about the foodInfact I am planning for a visit this week…Sad to hear that we will not see the place in 50 years

  3. @ Sid,thank you very much, Sid..Yuo are the first blogger friend who wished me..You'll surely get a treat from me..Thanks for the comment..I wish that I remain 19 all along my life..But sadly, life moves on and I'll eventually get older..

  4. i must b the last of them to wish you,netha..my monitor has decided to retire a day before i returned from my college..and i hav a birthday gift for you,my nezt story..i've written it down and all that is left is to type t out,n upload it..and i remember,did u not challenge me to find you??hm… 🙂

  5. @ Jon,Thanks for the comment. we need to think seriously about global warming and related issues, and take steps to tackle them, or we will lose one of the most beautiful harbours on earth to the sea.

Leave a Reply

