Compassion

 

I was waiting impatiently for the doctor in the visitors’ room in the hospital. My eyes drifted in the whole room and finally rested upon a large ornamental vase that stood opposite to me on the mahogany table. The glass vase, half filled with water, had white and red tulips, their tender stems dipped in water. My eyes caught the sight of a ladybird, that walked on the outer edge of the white petal of one tulip. As I was admiring the beauty of the little creature, the bug slipped and fell into the water underneath. It struggled in the water for want of support.
I had a strong urge to pull out the flowers from the vase, and rescue the insect. But I resisted myself, hoping over hope that it would catch hold of the fleshy tulip stem and climb out to safety.
Five seconds passed, the ladybird was still in water.I rose from the seat, went near the table, pulled out a few flowers, put my hand inside the vase the and rescued the insect, neglecting the puzzled looks thrown at me by the other visitors.
If I had let the ladybird die, I would never have forgiven myself. The dove saved the ant from drowning by dropping a leaf into the stream ( so goes the story). Hundreds of people work tirelessly in Australia to throw those starfishes back to the sea which had got buried in the sand after a high tide. Volunteers in Britain rescue the countryside frogs from the road who would have otherwise fallen prey to the fast moving vehicles. Every little act of compassion can make a big difference in others’ lives.
Friends, let’s nurture life.
13 thoughts on “Compassion

  1. eautiful…the message is loud and clear…the moment we start to not worry about the "puzzled looks thrown at us" as you put it, i think we can do much much more than what we do now.from saving a ladybird to starfishes to frogs to our planet earth…its the little steps that make the difference.. lets all put in our effort to make that difference..

  2. actually,when i was young, there would always be the odd ant that strayed out of its territory and a second away from being drowned..And i would take a piece of paper,or a brush to rescue the poor thing..

  3. താങ്കളുടെ ബ്ലോഗ് കൊള്ളാം. ഞാന്‍ ജോയിന്‍ ചെയ്തു. താങ്കളെ എന്റെ ബ്ലോഗിലേക്കും ക്ഷണിക്കുന്നു.എന്റെ ബ്ലോഗിലും ജോയിന്‍ ചെയ്യണേ..!!

  4. great netha, i only hav a face of a small girl smiling and sitting in sit out, wen i come back from school, got me , not yet right?????????

Leave a Reply

